Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Posts Tagged ‘Esquilino’


Brancaccio Palace is the last Roman Patrician Palace built in 1880 in the heart of the eternal city, Rome. Located on Colle Oppio, near Emperor palazzo-brancaccioNero’s,”Domus Aurea” and the seven hills, between Colosseum and the famous Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore.
Princess Mary Elisabhet Field, american wife of Salvatore Brancaccio, in 1879 relied on architect Gaetano Koch the construction of the palace situated in a beautiful natural old park between roman ruins, centuries old plants and fountains, mixed by vegetable essence.
In the Park you can also admire the small and charming Hunting Lodge turned into a Coffee House, rich of decorations and painted by Francesco Gay.
Inside the Palace you can fild anchanting banquet rooms where Mary Elisabeth Field gave magnificent sumptuous parties also in honour of the King Umberto of Savoy. The same halls in 1969 have been completely restored and reserved for unforgettable private and public manifestations by the Roma Party Company that for more than 30 years has the honour to manage this artistic patrimony. Many important multinational firms are faithful customers. Today this Palace is considered as one of the most beautiful venue in Rome, where getting together is to find again the plasure for living.

Advertisements

Read Full Post »


The oldest and largest ice-cream parlour in Italy is situated in Rome, at number 65 to 67 of Via Principe Eugenio. The Fassi business dates back to 1880, when it appears as commercial premises authorized to sellice and serve beer. Founder of the four-generation ice-cream making dynasty was Giacomo, who opened a small parlour in Rome at Via delle Quattro Fontane, near Piazza Barberini. Giacomo’s son, Giovanni known as the Sovereign Ice-Cream Maker, was later to follow in his father’s foot steps, concentrating exclusively on ice-cream and moving the premises frst to Piazza Navona, then to Via Piave (from 1907 to 1927) and finally to Via Principe Eugenio, which has beenthe only Fassi parlour in Rome for the past sixty years. In 1961 the helm of the huge ice-cream making business (a 700 m2 shop, of which 200 m2 are taken up by the ice-cream workshop) was taken by Leonida, under whom, thanks to the fund of experience passed on to him by his father, the Fassi name continues today to receive kudos.For over 10 years, until 1989, Leonida held the office of vice-president director of the Italian Federation of Businesses belonging to “Confcommercio” (the general confederation of Italian commerce and tourism). Anong the many awards presented to the Fassi Company, the certificate conferred by the Rome Chamber of Commerce, attesting to over 50 years of business, with a gold medal, for allegiance to labour and economic improvement, stands out against the rest.
The web site is www.palazzodelfreddo.it

Read Full Post »


This lovely Villa was originally a vineyard that was bought by the Mattei family to whom the new design of the gardens Villa Celimontanais owed. On the Celio hill, it has long attracted visitors with its trees and ancient marbles in its gardens, including an obelisk from the times of Ramses II. It became the property of various foreigners until 1918 when it was confiscated by the Italian state. The last owner, Baron Riccardo Hoffmann, contributed to its expansion and added a small Neo-Gothic temple, which is now the home of the Italian Geographic Society.

Read Full Post »